It’s basketball season! + My Jayhawk Halloween costume

20121109-121000.jpg

Can you feel it? After what felt like an eternal baseball season, followed by another dismal football season, our time has finally come. It’s college basketball season. Hallelujah.

The exhibition games told us a lot and nothing at the same time. After spending last season rocking skinny jeans on the bench, Ben McLemore and Jamari Traylor are finally eligible and they look good.

But Kansas beat Washburn, a Division II school, 62-50. That’s a 12-point margin. Twelve. What the hell is that? I expect exhibition games to be won by a least 20 points. That’s just how it’s supposed to be.

Bill Self didn’t like what he saw, either. The silver lining to a poor showing is a Bill Self wake-up call, my favorite kind of wake-up call. He called the offense “miserable,” noted the absence of senior leadership from Jeff Withey, Travis Releford and Elijah Johnson, and worried aloud about the lack of post presence. I would hate to disappoint the most beloved man in college basketball, and I have a hunch the players feel the same way.

Is Kansas ready to take on Michigan State in four days? I’m a little nervous, but tonight’s game against Southeast Missouri State will tell us a lot. And, barring the unthinkable, it will start the regular season with a win.

So, to celebrate the opening of my favorite season, I present to you my Jayhawk Halloween costume.

20121109-112552.jpg

My crafty friend Claire, a Texas State Bobcat herself, made my “beak” just by looking at the “Beak ’em” logo. Later, I realized for the first time in my 24 years that the Jayhawk has blue eyes. I’m a terrible fan.

20121109-112848.jpg

Here’s me with Crafty Claire showing off the final product. Everyone who knows that I’m a mentally unstable Kansas fan could tell I was a Jayhawk. Strangers thought I was an Angry Bird. I was pretty happy with the outcome, especially considering I spent about $9 and one hour watching Claire do all the work.

Now here’s something else to get you pumped for the season.

20121109-121137.jpg

Katie Morris, my sorority sister and originator of the “Bill Self for President” sign, has created her own blog. It’s a perspective of her senior year at KU, beginning with An Open Letter to Bill Self and His Team. Go read it.

OK, now this. Rock Chalk.

One thought on “It’s basketball season! + My Jayhawk Halloween costume

Leave a Reply

